Languages

Fulbrighters & Their Projects: Closing 2018

Now, as the the traditional academic year is moving towards its end, here is part two of our overview of what current and past Fulbrighters have been up to over the year 2018, regarding their Fulbright projects and also in terms of sharing their experience both locally and globally.

***

In autumn-early winter of 2018, Alexey Karapetyants, grantee of the Visiting Scholar 2018-19 programme at University at Albany, SUNY (Albany, New York), gave talks at seminars by the departments of mathematics at a multitude of universities around the U.S. Professor Karapetyants is Head of the Department of Computer Software and Automated Systems at Don State Technical University, Professor of the Department of Differential and Integral Equations at Southern Federal University, as well as also Head of Regional Scientific and Educational Mathematical Center of Southern Federal University. Partially supported by the Outreach Lecturing Fund (OLF), Alexey gave talks at Syracuse University (Syracuse, New York), Kent State University (Kent, Ohio), University of Michigan (East Lansing, Michigan), University of Toledo (Toledo, Ohio), and University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, Alabama).

***

Olga Sysoeva, lead researcher of the Center for Neurocognitive Research at Moscow State University of Psychology & Education, currently a Visiting Scholar 2018-19 at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Neurophysiology Laboratory at Department of Pediatric Neuroscience (New York), has been largely involved into cultural life of her host environment. Olga has visited a few get-togethers in New York organized by the One to World, travelled to different places and met with other Fulbrighters from different countries. She took part in such events as Fulbright New Year Holiday party, Fulbright Reception Party, Apple Picking in Fishcat Farm, the Dia:Beacon museum, and Fulbright Enrichment Seminar on Leveraging Strategic Innovation and Entrepreneurship for Long Term Success held in San Diego. Olga also arranged a small tea party to introduce her colleagues to the Russian Orthodox Christmas Holiday on January 7th.

***

Tatyana Karamysheva, Visiting Scholar, 2011-12, Senior Scientist at the Institute of Cytology & Genetics, Russian Academy of Sciences, Siberian Branch, a tireless organizer of Fulbright events in the past, has continued tainting her Novosibirsk RAS colleagues with fondness for table tennis. She hosted three tournaments, including the "New Year Racket" on November 28, 2019. Tatyana reports massive enthusiasm from everyone involved and uses this opportunity to promote the Fulbright program too.

***

Aleksandr Kondrashin, alumnus of the Visiting Graduate Student program 2015-16, is now Head of Agency for Investment, Attraction and Export Support of Republic Of Sakha (Yakutia). Alexander claims that the obtained degree of Master of Public Policy supported by the Fulbright grantprepared him for his current career in the state bodies of the Russian Federation. THe specializes in the field of development and analysis of government programs with a focus on attracting investments which allowes him to use the new skills, knowledge and a unique network of acquaintances in his position.

***

Tatyana Sofronova, alumna of FFDP 2008-09 program, Associate Professor at the Krasnoyarsk State Pedagogical University, shared her research at the conference in University of Lorraine (Nancy, France) where she is doing her postdoctoral internship. Tatyana won the international competition for short–term postdoctoral mobility program "Atlas". At the conference she spoke of the development of a multilingual network resource for comparative and contrasting representation of scientific terminology.

***

Photos by A. Karapetyants, O. Sysoeva, T. Karamysheva & YSIA.RU.

The Fulbright Program in Russia. Institute of International Education.
Tverskaya St., 16 building 1, office 504, Moscow, Russia 125009
Tel: +7.495.966.9353 Contact: info@fulbright.ru

Languages

Проекты фулбрайтовцев: завершая 2018 г.

В то время как учебный год медленно, но верно движется к концу, мы продолжаем обзор деятельности фулбрайтовцев в 2018 году, как в рамках работы по грантовым проектам, так и в отношении культурно-академического обмена на локальном и глобальном уровнях.

***

В конце 2018 года Алексей Карапетянц, стипендиат программы Фулбрайта для ученых 2018-19 гг. в Университете Олбани SUNY (Олбани, штат Нью-Йорк), совместно с департаментами математики выступил c семинарами в нескольких университетах США. Доктор физико-математических наук, профессор Карапетянц является заведующим кафедры Программного обеспечения вычислительной техники и автоматизированных систем Донского государственного технического университета, профессором и руководителем Регионального математического центра Южного федерального университета. Частично при поддержке Outreach Lecturing Fund (OLF), Алексей выступил с лекциями и семинарами в Сиракузском университетe (Сиракузы, штат Нью-Йорк), Государственном университете Кента (Кент, штат Огайо), Мичиганском университете (Лансинг, штат Мичиган), Университете Толедо (Толедо, штат Огайо) и Университете Алабамы (Таскалуса, штат Алабама).

***

Ольга Сысоева, ведущий научный сотрудник научно-образовательного центра нейрокогнитивных исследований Московского государственного психолого-педагогического университета, стипендиат программы Фулбрайта для ученых 2018-19 гг. в Медицинском колледж имени Альберта Эйнштейна (Нью-Йорк), активно включилась в культурную жизнь своего принимающего университета и города. Ольга посетила мероприятия One to World, совершила несколько путешествий по штату с фулбрайтовцами из других стран, поучаствовала в фулбрайтовской новогодней вечеринке, Сборе яблок на Фишкэт Фарм, посетила музей Dia:Beacon, а также фулбрайтовский семинар по развитию стратегических инноваций и предпринимательства в Сан-Диего. 7 января 2019 г. она также организовала небольшое чаепитие и познакомила своих коллег с тем, как в России отмечают православное Рождество.

***

Татьяна Карамышева, выпускница программы Фулбрайта для ученых 2011-12 гг., кандидат биологических наук Института цитологии и генетики сибирского отделения РАН, неутомимый организатор регулярных мероприятий для фулбрайтовцев, продолжает вовлекать своих коллег из РАН в турниры по настольному теннису. Она провела уже три соревнования, включая "Новогоднюю ракетку" 28 ноября 2019 г. Татьяна также активно использует эту возможность для информирования коллег о программе Фулбрайта.

***

Александр Кондрашин, выпускник магистерско-аспирантской программы Фулбрайта 2015-16 гг., теперь является генеральным директором Агентства по привлечению инвестиций и поддержке экспорта Республики Саха (Якутия). По словам Александра, грант Фулбрайта помог ему завершить подготовку к карьере в государственных органах Российской Федерации, а полученная степень MPP (Master in Public Policy) в области разработки и анализа государственных программ с фокусом на привлечении инвестиций позволила приобрести навыки, знания и уникальную сеть знакомств, которые он теперь может использовать, занимая данную позицию.

***

Татьяна Софронова, выпусница программы FFDP 2008-09 гг., Доцент кафедры английской филологии в Красноярском государственном педагогическом университете им. В.П. Астафьева, выступила с результами своих исследований в Университете Лотарингии (Нанси, Франция), где проходила постдокторскую стажировку. Татьяна победила в конкурсе на программу мобильности "Атлас" - программе краткосрочных постдокторских стажировок. На конференции она рассказала о развитии многоязычного сетевого ресурса для сравнительного и контрастного представления научной терминологии.

***

Фото предоставлены А. Карапетянцем, О. Сысоевой, Т. Карамфшевой и YSIA.RU.

Программа Фулбрайта в Российской Федерации. Институт Международного Образования.
Россия, 125009, г. Москва. ул. Тверская, д. 16 строение 1, офис 504
Тел: +7.495.966.9353
e-mail: info@fulbright.ru